Refining your writing process

‘If you do what you’ve always done, you’ll get what you’ve always got.’

I don’t know who said the above quote, but quite frankly it’s genius. If you follow me on Twitter, you’ll know that I finished my second novel on Christmas Eve 2012. It had taken roughly two-and-a-half years to write. Now for 6 months of that time I didn’t write at all because I was recovering from an illness, but in reality a lot of the other two years was taken up by being blocked. Writer’s block, most people say, doesn’t exist but something was certainly slowing me down.

When I looked back over the time it took to write the novel, I realised a big part of this was down to planning – or the lack of it. I’d starting writing the book with a vague idea of what happened, but without any structure or plan written down. I thought it was because I was a ‘pantser’ – someone who prefers to fly by the seat of their pants – because when I’d previously tried to plan I ended up blocked because I knew what was going to happen in the book and perhaps I just didn’t like what I saw. But instead of trying to refine the plan, I threw it away and tried to continue flying by the seat of my pants. I got to the end of the book, but if I want to make a business of writing and publishing books, I needed to go back to the drawing board and develop a way of better organising my writing.

I’d decided to give over January this year to working on refining my writing process, while I took a break following the sprint finish of Book Two. I bought ‘2K to 10K’ by Rachel Aaron on a recommendation from Joanna Penn and it was a real eye opener. The first section of the book focuses on Rachel’s account of how she managed to increase her word count to 10,000 words a day (on several occasions) and completed a 100,000 word novel in about 2 weeks. Now, I’m not convinced about the effectiveness of writing so many words so quickly (sorry Rachel!) but then maybe that’s slightly envy on my part because Rachel writes 6 hours a day, while I get a maximum of an hour a day to write outside my day job. But when you break down Rachel’s theory – the triangle – it really works. She suggests that there are 3 strands to helping improve writing speed; knowledge, time and enthusiasm. And in this Rachel has a really good point – if you know what you’re supposed to be writing (i.e. have a plan), are writing at your most productive time of day and are bursting with enthusiasm for your story, it will flow from your fingers.

At present I’m successfully managing 2 sides of the triangle but unfortunately my most productive writing time occurs during my working day. However, I’m sticking to my plan of writing 2,500 words a week and so far it’s working. During February I wrote about 11,500 words which for me is amazing. So clearly 2 out of 3 aint bad as the song goes. March has been a tricky month and I haven’t really written due to personal circumstances, but in general I’ve embraced this change and am doing things differently so hopefully my end result will be a much better written story, finished much more quickly. I’m relatively confident I can meet my target, so thanks Rachel for the advice. I may never hit 10k a day in words but it’s certainly boosted my weekly word count!

What ways have you found for increasing your productivity? Do you find that you have a more productive time of day than any other? Please let me know your thoughts.

One thought on “Refining your writing process

Add yours

  1. Great post, thanks for sharing.

    The triangle theory rings true. Enthusiasm has usually been where I flounder, at around the halfway point of a story, I start to lose steam a bit. It’s something I’m working on.

    I usually find I’m most productive after the gym when endorphins are still kicking and my adrenaline is up 🙂 I can crank out at least a thousand words in such cases.

Leave a Reply

